Veganniversary and Food Aversions

Don’t know if immigrants all over the world do this, but in Israel, it’s very common to celebrate the anniversary of the day you make aliyah. We call it the aliyahversary.

I just read an article that mentions something called a veganniversary. The article mentioned it in terms of months rather than years, at least for a newbie like me. It’s also true that, while some days, like yesterday, I eat 100% vegan (and mostly raw) food, I also still eat a little bit of dairy and some products with eggs. I’m learning to cook without eggs, but I have to experiment more.

I want to make a vegan challah for Shabbat but DD#1 requested a different, specific challah. Since she’s expressed the most resistance to this change, I know I should wait and try the vegan challah next week when she’s not home. A no-brainer. But I have itchy fingers. I want to. But I know I shouldn’t.

aversions

I’ve been reading through tons of vegan cookbooks, recipe blogs, Pinterest boards and websites. Most of the recipes are not even remotely interesting to me. But then, I have always had a very quirky palate. I’m overweight, but I have many food aversions. Years ago, I read a dissertation on food aversions in adults. There are adults who only ever eat a handful of things. The researcher found that many adults with significant food aversions are also not so mentally healthy. That finding doesn’t apply to me 🙂

I’m not quite as limited as the most extreme cases of people who eat only 5 things. But I truly don’t like most foods.

My omnivore diet basically included the same foods over and over. So that’s probably not going to change.

I also go through food phases – times when a certain food has tremendous appeal. Right now, it’s zucchini kugel (without eggs!).

Another friend shared an unsolicited impression that vegan food is expensive and time-consuming. Since I have been reading so much on it, I was able to respond calmly by saying, “That hasn’t been my experience.”

Right now, I am stocking the kitchen a little at a time with ingredients necessary to cook vegan dishes. It’s a lot like the restocking after Pesach. It’s not cheap, but you buy things once that last for months. Still, the recipes I like the most are the ones that have familiar foods. Perhaps that’s a stage through which all vegans must pass.

I don’t have a lot of work assignments right now. I feel that Hashem has gifted me with this time to incorporate a lifestyle change. It’s a lot like the decision to make aliyah. Once a switch is flipped in my head, I can be VERY focused.

Leave a Reply

Letters to Josep

Judaism, as told to a Christian friend

couponing in the holy land

Frugal food shopping for the Anglo Israeli

Reboot With Joe » Blog

Transitioning to a kosher, plant-strong diet.

Oh She Glows

Transitioning to a kosher, plant-strong diet.

FatFree Vegan Kitchen

Transitioning to a kosher, plant-strong diet.

Vegie Head

Transitioning to a kosher, plant-strong diet.

The Vegan Woman

Transitioning to a kosher, plant-strong diet.

Your Vegan Mom

Transitioning to a kosher, plant-strong diet.

In Vegetables We Trust

Home to over 200 vegan recipes.

Disease Proof

Transitioning to a kosher, plant-strong diet.

Juice Master News

Latest worldwide News from the Juice Master Jason Vale | Covering juicing, new recipes, health news, new products, events and juicy testimonials

